Saint Francis Students Win at All State Art competition for District 3

Congratulations to our senior winners at the All State Art competition for District 3.

Our state award winners include:

Seniors – Sarah Cottone, Anthony Riggio, Guy van Hessewijk and P.J. Coyne.

The 2015 All State Art Symposium State Winner Juror is Dennis Harper, the Curator of Collections and Exhibitions at the Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art at Auburn University.  As State Winners our students’ work will be featured in an exhibition at the Columbus State University Norman Shannon and Emmy Lou P. Illges Gallery, April 9 – 18th.  Exhibition and Awards reception will take place April 18, 3:30 – 5 pm.

Several other Saint Francis students also had their pieces selected including:

Seniors – Emily Corcoran, Kaleigh Hall, and Kyle Nadler

Juniors – Jasmine Ferraro, and Renee Gluzman

Sophomore –  Ashley Herman

Each student had one piece selected except for Guy van Heesewijk who had two pieces selected. Their work was selected by Professor Milbrandt from Georgia State University as among the best work submitted by students in public and private schools in Fulton, Dekalb, Cobb and Gwinnett counties. Their artwork will automatically move to the “state winner” level judging. Each district finalist receives a “certificate of achievement”. Each finalist is invited to attend the all states art symposium with their teacher and parents at Columbus State University in April.